OUR Board

Te huarahi tika trust board members

  • Dr Chris Tooley, Chairperson

  • Daphne Luke, Trustee

  • Toa Greening, Trustee

  • George Reedy, Trustee

  • Debbie Packer, Trustee

  • Warren Williams, Trustee

  • Ty Kahu, Trustee

  • Mavis Mullins, Patron


Dr Chris Tooley - Ngāti Kahungunu

Appointed 2018 - Elected Chair 2019

Dr Chris Tooley is currently the Chief Executive of Te Puna Ora o Mataatua based in the Bay of Plenty. He is the Vice-Chair of the International Work Group on Indigenous Affairs (IWGIA) and an Academic Board Member at Te Wananga O Aotearoa.

Chris was the Chief Ministerial Advisor to Sir Pita R Sharples, Minister of Māori Affairs, Associate Minister of Education and Corrections during his two terms of Parliament between 2008-2014. In this role, Chris was deeply involved in the spectrum claim and negotiations across the government on the $30M Māori ICT Fund as well as designing the overall Māori Economic Strategy.

Chris holds a PhD from the University of Cambridge and is a Gates Scholar. He read on the concept of self-determination/nationalism across western philosophy, international law and geo-politics and conducted research in Palestine


Daphne Luke - Ngāti Kahungunu, Rongomaiwahine

Appointed 2009 - Elected Chair 2010 - 2019

Daphne has developed extensive networks in Māori tertiary education, community and Iwi development and business. Daphne has been self-employed for 20 years as a business coach and consultant.

Daphne is a member of Te Mana Whakahaere o Te Wananga o Raukawa, the governing Council of the Wananga. She is the current chair of the Raukawa Media Charitable Trust, Te Rōpū Pakihi the Kapiti Horowhenua Māori Business Network and she coordinates the affairs of a small Maori IT investor group. In 2009 Daphne was appointed to the Maori Economic Taskforce by the Hon Pita Sharples to chair the Small-Medium Enterprises portfolio. Consequently she served as an initial appointment to Ngā Pu Waea, the government’s Rural Broadband Initiative Advisory Group.

A key role for Daphne is to maintain our relationship with the WAI2224 spectrum claimants (Whatarangi Winiata for NZMC; Huirangi Waikerepuru and Piripi Walker for Ngā Kaiwhakapūmau i te Reo and Graeme Everton for the Rangiaho Everton Estate).

Tom Greening.jpg

Toa Greening - Ngāti Kahungunu, Rongomaiwahine

Appointed 2012

Toa is a tertiary qualified Information Engineer with over twenty year’s New Zealand ICT industry experience. He has completed professional qualifications with Cisco, Microsoft, Citrix, Novell and Hewlett Packard.

Over his varied ICT career Toa has developed payroll and shipping container management systems, deployed Chartered Accounting Systems throughout NZ, implemented volcano and forest fire monitoring systems and worked on some of NZs largest ICT projects.

Toa is a senior manager at Spark NZ and a director of MicroCar Limited. He is currently the technical spokesperson for the National Environmental Society on radio frequency electro-magnetic fields and a professional member of the Bio-electromagnetics Society.

George Pic Feb 2019.jpg

George Reedy- Ngāti Porou

Appointed 2015

George has a background in business, non-Government organisations and the Public Sector. A Chartered Accountant (with an MBA) his main interests have been in strategy and business development especially in on-line digital environments.

George is passionate about businesses in the Telco and IT sectors from start-ups to large enterprises. George is currently the CEO for Te Tai Whenua o Heretaunga, the health arm of Ngati Kahungunu.

Te Huarahi Tika has appointed George as its representative to the government’s Maori $30M ICT Advisory Group. In 2016, he assumed the chair of the Trust’s asset holding trust, Hautaki.


Debbie Packer - Ngāti Ruanui, Ngā Ruahine, Ngā Rauru

Appointed 2017 - Elected Deputy Chair 2019

Debbie’s guiding philosophy is mahi, mana, and manaakitanga – hard work, respect, and care for other. She is currently the Kaiarataki (Chief Executive) for Te Runanga o Ngati Ruanui Trust, a member on the Māori Economic Development Panel, the director of Tui Ora Ltd, the director for the Iwi Collective Fisheries Partnership Ltd, Director-Chairman for Ngāti Ruanui Holding ltd and Operating Ltd and the Chair for the Tourism Operation Mt Taranaki.

Debbie has been part of the Stanford Boot-camp programme and has taken three groups of rangatahi to San Francisco to visit Silicon Valley.

Warren Williams.jpg

Warren Williams - Waikato Tainui

Appointed 2017

Warren Williams is the former National IT Manager for Te Wānanga o Aotearoa. He has been in the ICTT and tertiary education industry for over 15 years. As a national IT manager he oversaw the IT strategic and operational direction of Te Wānanga o Aotearoa.

Warren is focussed on strategic ICTT relationships and partnerships that provide positive contributions to students and the communities they live in. He feels that through the use of technology, skills and knowledge can be easily accessed wherever they are. He is an advocate of “mobile” working and encourages people to drive technology to work better, and not let technology drive them.


Ty Kahu - Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Ruanui

Appointed 2018

Pentech is a specialised provider of information and communications technology who brings fast, reliable and secure IP communications to organisations of all sizes throughout New Zealand.  As the Managing Director for Pentech over the last ten years, Ty is responsible for setting the company’s direction and strategy. He also oversees Pentech’s operations management processes.  Ty recently accepted the role of Chairman of the Board.

Ty has 30 years of experience in the sector and his technical background is tempered with business acumen and governance roles.  He is the immediate Chair of Te Awe, the Wellington Māori Business Network.  Recently Ty established a Māori IT sector group in the Capital and is has also begun to develop a Māori IT recruitment company.  When he’s not bouncing around new ideas and resources, he’ll most likely be found coaching on the volleyball court.


Mavis mullins- RangitāNE

Appointed 2000 - THTT Chair 2001-2010, Hautaki Director 2004-2019,

Trust Patron 2019

Past directorships include Aohanga Incorporation, Landcorp Farming Ltd and Massey University. Being Patron of the Agri-Women’s Development Trust gives opportunity to share skills and experiences with rural women engaged in self development. As past chair of Te Huarahi Tika Trust (Māori Spectrum) and chair of Hautaki Ltd, the NZ shareholder within 2degreesmobile, Mavis has been integral to the development and commercial utilisation of spectrum for mobile technologies.

Her own company, Paewai Mullins Shearing Ltd, was the first globally in the sector to achieve ISO 9002 certification. Other acknowledgments include Golden Shears the agrisport of shearing and woolhandling Awards Māori Businesswoman of the Year (1998), Queen’s Birthday Honour MNZM for service to the wool industry (2002), Māori Sports Administrator of the Year for Shearing & Woolhandling (2005, 2012), Safeguard NZ Health & Safety in the Workplace Award to Paewai Mullins Shearing (2008). She was inducted into the Business Hall of Fame in 2017. Mavis was a significant In early 2019, Mavis accepted the Trust’s invitation to become the Group’s Patron.

Mavis was a long-time Chair of the Poutama Trust, supported the Taratahi Agricultural Training Centre and was a negotiator on the Rangitāne Settlement Negotiations Trust and PSGE Rangitāne Tu Mai Ra Trust.